BEVA presents Awards for Excellence in Equine Veterinary Medicine

This year’s prestigious awards ceremony at the BEVA Congress (September 7-10, 2022) recognized a diversity of professionals for their brilliance in the equine veterinary sector and included a new award in memory of Peter Rossdale. The awards were presented by BEVA President Huw Griffiths and special guests on Thursday, September 8, 2022.

The BEVA Equine Welfare Award, sponsored by Blue Cross was presented to Charlotte “Charlie” Thornycroft by Chris Burghes, CEO of Blue Cross. She received an Irish bog oak trophy and £200. Since the start of the conflict in Ukraine, Charlie Thornycroft has acted as a volunteer implementing UK equestrian support initiatives, on the ground in Poland for three months and more recently from the UK. She has been selfless and unwavering in her support of Ukrainian horses and people, working under exceptionally difficult circumstances. The level of support provided by the UK in partnership with the Ukrainian Equestrian Federation would not have been possible without Charlie’s volunteer work.

Charlie worked long hours, often going several nights without sleep. She endured harsh and harsh conditions and never uttered a word of complaint. She showed ingenuity, patience and compassion throughout the process and never lost sight of her primary goal of alleviating the suffering of horses in Ukraine.

The BEVA Richard Hartley Clinical Prize was featured to Emily Floyd for the article “Systemic antimicrobial therapy in foals” by Emily F. Floyd, Charlotte A. Easton-Jones, and Mathijs JP Theelen, published in the January 2022 issue of Equine veterinary education.

The prize is awarded in memory of Richard Hartley, founding member of BEVA and president from 1974 to 1975. It is awarded to the first author of the best article published in Equine Veterinary Journal Where Equine veterinary education with direct clinical application. The £1,000 prize is intended to support the travels of the first author and/or co-authors.

Peter Rossdale Equine Veterinary Journal (EVJ) Open Award was presented to Rebecca Bishop for the article “Effect of omeprazole and sucralfate on gastrointestinal damage in a fasting/NSAID model” by Rebecca C. Bishop, Ann M. Kemper, Pamela A. Wilkins and Annette McCoy, published in the issue of July 2022 from Equine Veterinary Journal.

This prize and the £1,000 prize are awarded to the paper that best achieves EVJ’s mission to publish papers that influence and improve clinical practice and/or add significantly to the scientific knowledge that underpins and support veterinary medicine in relation to the horse.

The Voorjaarsdagen and BEVA awards

The winner of this year’s BEVA Award is Frédérique A. Schless DVM for her abstract “Development of a new survival prognosticator model for hospitalized neonatal foals in a European Warmblood Population”. Frédérique’s presentation won the prize at the Congress Voorjaarsdagen in April 2022; she will present it again during the Clinical Research Sessions of the BEVA 2022 Congress.

The reciprocal winner of the Voorjaarsdagen Prize will be selected from among those presenting clinical research abstracts at this year’s BEVA congress. Their prize will be a free registration to the Congress Voorjaarsdagen 2023 where they will have the opportunity to present their abstract again.

The Voorjaarsdagen and BEVA awards were introduced in 2005 to mark the close relationship between the two Associations. The award is selected and presented twice a year, once at the Voorjaarsdagen Congress and once at the BEVA Congress, and is open to anyone who submits a clinical research abstract.

The new Peter Rossdale EVE Literary Prize was presented by Professor Sidney Ricketts to Nazaré Storms, lead author of the article “Strangulating lesions of the small intestine related with the great omentum in horses: 32 cases”. The co-authors are A. Salciccia, S. Grulke, P. Barbazanges, J. Detilleux and G. de la Rebière, and the article was published as an EVE Early View article in August 2021.

The award was introduced in 2022 in memory of Peter Rossdale and is sponsored by Rossdales Veterinary Surgeons who provided the £1000 award. The prize is awarded to the best clinical research article published in Equine veterinary education (STANDBY). Peter Rossdale, a true pioneer of the profession, created EVE in 1989 recognizing the need to encourage clinician education and to encourage clinicians to publish clinical articles.

The Sam Hignett Award All general equine practice clinical research presentations are eligible for the Sam Hignett Award. A continuous process of evaluation will take place throughout the clinical research sessions and the winner of the award will be announced after the Congress via the BEVA website and newsletter.

For more information on the BEVA Awards, visit

Leave a Comment